World Cup 1: England 1 – 0 Paraguay

Saturday 10 June (2006)

Well, England’s first game of the World Cup is over, and what a washout. We started out great with a nice goal by Beckham – except, we didn’t. I really thought it went straight in until the third replay, where I realised (like everyone else before me) that it was an own goal. England’s good fortune was augmented by Paraguay’s terrible luck – five minutes into their campaign they’d scored an own goal and lost their first-choice keeper to injury.

I know England, and I know they play better against teams that are ‘harder’ to beat, so I’m not too worried yet – and a win is a win. Nevertheless, Gerrard didn’t play as well as he is capable of, and no-one in fact impressed me. Time will tell here, but we’re seeded second for the tournament so we should be capable of some magic.

Leave a Reply

