The Sunday Review: Cars

Sunday 2 July (2006)

The Sunday Review has been away for a few weeks due to unforseen circumstances (I was drunk) but now it’s back!

cars is the latest from the cutesy pixar people

‘God, cars? That’s what they’re following up Toy Story, A Bug’s Life, Monsters Inc., Finding Nemo and The Incredibles with? Jeez.’

That was my initial impression last year. Then the trailers came out, and this movie really looked like nothing even remotely special – I thought it was going to be shit. Actually, what I really thought was that it was a very blatant attempt to make a movie that boys would like (it’s cars!) and that they could make a shitload of merchandise from – and if this is anything to go by ($600 million so far) I was right. Still, I like Pixar for making movies that are kind of like the Disney movies I used to go and see when I was ten, so I decided to give this movie a chance.

Before I go any further, I feel I should mention my Pixar track record. The Incredibles? Crap. I didn’t like it at all. Toy Story (and 2) I loved – didn’t everyone? And A Bug’s Life, Monsters Inc. and Finding Nemo were fucking awesome. Luckily, Cars fits into the last category – it’s a really great movie.

The plot deals with a cocky racecar who finds himself doing time in nowheresville (kind of like Michael J. Fox in Doc Hollywood) but grows to love the place. There’s really not much more to it than that – I mean, yeah, there’s a story arc, and all of the characters go through something, but this is really just another one of those ‘finding yourself’ movies, and it’s a good one. All of the characters are likeable (even the redneck) and Paul Newman excels as the weary car with a secret, Doc.

I haven’t really got more to say than that – this is a classic Pixar movie, and that’s all you really need to know. If you liked any of their movies, you should like this one – it figures as one of their best. And damn, the quality of the CGI… yeah, those guys know what they’re doing.

If you have kids, take them without delay. If you have a girlfriend, do the same. If you want to watch a great movie… well, got and see Pirates of the Caribbean 2. But then watch this afterwards ;

6 Responses to “The Sunday Review: Cars”

  1. scabbzo Says:

    Hee, I thought it was pretty much “Doc Hollywood” with cars too. Interestingly, it’s not out until July 28 over here. I have no idea how you managed such an advanced viewing, mr wishart. Tsk!

  2. Gabez Says:

    Funny that you don’t like The Incredibles, since I heard it was their best film. Anyway, I’ve heard some good stuff about Cars, though at first sight it does look a little crap. I mean, CARS!?

  3. Sally Says:

    I agree, it’s brilliant, and I really didn’t expect it to be. Thanks to Dan for my advanced viewing😉

  4. scabbzo Says:

    I like how halfway through the “advance version” of the film some woman announces that a kid is lost and at the concession stand.🙂

    Unless we have different versions. In which case I just sound like a blithering fool here.


Leave a Reply

