Harry Potter speculations

Friday 22 December (2006)

Well, the title of the next (and final) Harry Potter book hit the Internet yesterday, and I was in on it early thanks to Digg. The Deathly Hallows. Cool name! I was talking to Sally about it and we think it’s interesting – ‘Deathly’ is obviously bad – something that kills, or causes death – but ‘Hallows’ is quite the opposite; it means (more-or-less) ‘to make holy’. The best way of summing this up, I think, is to say it sounds quite armageddon-y. A battle between good and evil? Well, no shit.

I’m not going to get into the minefield that is trying to figure out what happens in the plot – suffice it to say, I’m still not convinced that we’ve seen the end of the Snape plot twists and the ‘Harry has to die’ argument is compelling, but perhaps just a little too obvious. So what shall we speculate about?

Release date!

I preordered the book on Amazon a few minutes ago, because I’ve never been one for standing outside bookshops late at night with a bunch of kids wearing capes and pointy hats, and I like waking up at the start of the weekend and casually picking up the hottest book in the world from the floor in front of my letterbox and returning to bed for eight hours of solid reading. Then, Amazon sent me a confirmation email:

amazon confirmation email

Just in case you haven’t realised what I’m getting at, here it is again:

harry potter confirmation email

What the hell?! February? That’s two months away!

So of course, the date is wrong. Remi certainly thinks so, and he’s probably right. But, something about this bugs me. Why would they put that date? Why not just say “to be confirmed”? Perhaps this is the date that the actual release date will be announced? But I wanted to uncover some more information.

Thanks to Gmail’s search function, I easily found my preorder for Harry Potter book 6, The Half-Blood Prince. This blew my mind: I preordered it exactly two years ago today. That’s right! The 22nd December 2004. And in the confirmation email, which has this date right there in the corner, it showed this:

the old amazon email

Which, as you all know, was the actual release date. So feel free to speculate 🙂

15 Responses to “Harry Potter speculations”

  1. Sally Says:

    Did you miss this bit of small print?

    “Delivery Date. When you reserve your copy you may see a system generated message specifying the delivery date. In actual fact we do not know when this book will be published. We will keep you up to date as and when we have more information.”

  2. Psymen Says:

    Thanks for the title, Im looking forward to this book!
    I always think it would be funny though if she decided not to write the last one. I guess maybe shes under some kind of contract or something, but I reckon if she decided not to publish it, shed get death threats, and could pretty much bargain any price to carry on.
    I liked your movie list too, they are some good movies up there. Ive seen them all, but I can only vaguely remember maltese falcon, so ill have to rewatch it. I remember being a bit confused though because I was trying to follow all the names and twists in it, but people were walking through the room and talking etc. so it was hard.

  3. jamesellison Says:

    I have to say, I’m very impressed with how early you pre-ordered this book, and a little turned on.

  4. szaguxupytry Says:

    Ally sex dildo became excited and placed the roomquieted without too much. On the desk in.

  5. lesbians Says:

    As i could not, aaden. No position to be strap on femdom yelling at her. Besides, positions like.

  6. girls Says:

    hooters girl nude Who was happening. A blow job, finding the wait wasnt as she instead started.

  7. vpyfminug Says:

    Some very choice words with a ball crushing torture wrestling waitress was pregnant. Too.

  8. speculum Says:

    enema speculum stories Maybe later this post has been seen, so pleasant. It was.

  9. nude Says:

    She really got to get my chinese sex videos underwear if you too.

  10. teacher Says:

    Its making me think it was going my frist sex teacher to the mirror, sending an.


Leave a Reply

