BAFTA nominations

Friday 12 January (2007)

The BAFTA nominations came out today and I thought I’d cast my eye over them, because what’s better than leaping to conclusions early on and then gambling that I’ll look astute come February? Besides that, the BAFTAs can be a good indication of where the Oscars are headed (award organisations seem to all think in the same way) so I can just pass this post off as an ‘Oscar prediction’ post. (Not to imply that the Oscars are better than the BAFTAs – that’s certainly not true for the ceremony.)

Instead of giving you the list verbatim, I’ll just pick out my candidate for each award I have an opinion on.

Film: I fancy Little Miss Sunshine, but in all likelyhood this will go to The Queen.

Director: Hmmm. Possibly Greengrass for United 93, but I would be pleased to see Scorcese pick this one up.

Original screenplay: A shoe-in – Guillermo Del Toro, Pan’s Labyrinth.

Film not in English: Again, Pan’s Labyrinth – which is good enough to win best film outright.

Actor: Anecdotally, I’ll have to go for Forest Whitaker. His performance, from what I’ve seen in clips, is fabulous – and indeed he’s a hot-pick for the Oscars.

Actress: Surely Helen Mirren, after all that fuss.

Visual effects: Pirates of the Caribbean. I mean, seriously, who didn’t think Bill Nighy was wearing a prosthetic? Photoreal.

And on the 11th of February, we’ll see just how wrong I will be.

One Response to “BAFTA nominations”

  1. Dave Says:

    Hey stan, are you alive? its been quiet round here recently…. unlike Newcastle where our ginger friend & co popped up. Went boating and wiggling, tho im very ill now though the red headed g*t !


Leave a Reply

